Undo "git gc" clean up?

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
3 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Undo "git gc" clean up?

Stardog
This post has NOT been accepted by the mailing list yet.
I added an existing repository, and it recommended doing a clean up, so I did and now all my files were deleted.

How do I undo this?

And please update you application to remove such a destructive option. For a beginner like me, this is 2 clicks away from adding a repo. It shouldn't ever be recommending this.
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Undo "git gc" clean up?

WORMSS
I am not sure what you have done, but gc is called "Garbage collection".. It only gets rid of commits and the objects related to those commits (eg git backup files) that are no longer being referenced by tags/branches/heads.

This does not touch the working tree (eg, the files you are currently working on). Only unneeded commits from the past.

I am not sure what you had done, but I have never seen SmartGit cleanup do anything close to the destruction you are mentioning.
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Undo "git gc" clean up?

SmartGit mailing list
Stardog, please send your log.txt files from the SmartGit settings directory (see About dialog) to [hidden email] for investigation. Thanks in advance.

--
Best regards,
Thomas Singer
syntevo GmbH
http://www.syntevo.com
http://blog.syntevo.com